d Welcome
d Organizers
d Conference Topics
d Technical Committee
d International Committee
d Plenary Speakers
d Minicourse
d Registration
d Awards & Grants
d Exhibitors & Sponsors
d Social Events

d Technical Program
d Venue & Travel
d Accommodation
d COVID Safety
d Visiting Seattle

d IEEE TPS Special issue
d Past/Future ICOPS
d Plasma Conferences
d Notifications & Policies

d Email ICOPS2022

Tuesday May 24: Young Professionals (YP) Symposium

ICOPS-2022 will host a reception on Tuesday evening from 1830 to 2000. This event is open to all registered conference attendees and companions. The reception will include food and drinks. Dr. Jennifer Elle (Air Force Research Lab) will chair the event.

The event will feature a panel of graduate and postgraduate fellowship recipients titled “Fellowships: What you need to know to identify and apply for fellowships which are right for you”. Please bring your questions for these panelists who have successfully navigated the fellowship process.

Panel list

Jenny Smith
Jenny Smith graduated from University of New Mexico with a B.S. in nuclear engineering. She is currently a PhD candidate at the University of Michigan seeking a doctorate in the same discipline with a concentration in plasma physics. Her thesis project focuses on the velocity limits in centrifugal plasmas. She is completing her PhD research at the Air Force Research Laboratories in Albuquerque, NM. Academically, Jenny has been awarded multiple merit fellowships from the University of Michigan. She has accepted the Science, Mathematics, and Research for Transformation (SMART) Fellowship and she has been awarded the National Defense Science and Engineering (NDSEG) Fellowship. She has completed internships at Texas A&M University, Sandia National Laboratories, Jet Propulsion Laboratories (JPL) and the Air Force Research Laboratories (AFRL). Her passion for physics and physics engineering has been the leading factor in her academics and career path. Jenny enjoys spending time with her husband and their pets, gardening and tending to houseplants at their home in Albuquerque, we well as hiking and roller skating with friends.


Samuel Schaub
Samuel Schaub earned his B.S. (physics and chemistry) from Valparaiso University, Valparaiso, IN in 2011 and his Ph.D. (plasma physics) in 2019 from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA. His dissertation work included theoretical and experimental studies of mm-wave initiated discharges in air and on surfaces in vacuum. Postdoctoral work at MIT included experimental studies of high power quasi-optical switches and mm-wave powered accelerating structures. In 2020 he joined the Directed Energy Directorate of the Air Force Research Laboratory at Kirtland Air Force Base, NM as a National Research Council Postdoctoral Fellow where he continues to work on mm-wave technology and applications.


Lucas Beving
Lucas Beving is a graduate student in the Applied Physics Program at the University of Michigan studying plasmas and their interactions with boundaries using particle-in-cell simulations.  I was a recipient of the SCGSR award in 2020 and was able to collaborate with a researcher (remotely) at Sandia National Laboratories for a year.  This allowed me to use their state of the art simulation tools and focus on research.


Erin Thornton
Erin Thornton is a PhD candidate at the University of North Texas.  She received a SMART scholarship sponsored by Kirtland Air Force Base in 2019.  She has since been conducting her graduate research at the Air Force Research Laboratory on broadband microwaves generation by ultrashort pulse laser driven plasma filaments.




ieee npss